Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Following on from my recent Pinterest feature, I’ve unearthed another exciting new social media platform. I can already hear the groans from some quarters, but stay with me!

It’s called Storify, and it’s basically a way to tell stories using social media such as tweets, photos, and videos. Users search multiple social networks from one place, and then drag individual elements into stories. You can basically create your own stories on any number of things, from events to individual objects.

Click on the image to go straight to my very first Storify!

I’ve mainly pulled bits from content I’ve already created, but you can begin to see the possibilities for creating interactive stories which are rich in context.

As with any social media platform, the key is interaction! The more you interact with people, the more you can get back.

As you can see, it’s already being used to cover key events such as the economic problems in Greece, and the Republican Primary race in the US, but I’ve not come across many cultural institutions which use Storify. This is somewhat surprising, when you consider the many possibilities and how easy it is to pull content from all manner of sources.

Described as ‘drop-and-drag curation’, it’ll be fascinating to see if this service takes off in the same way Pinterest has done in recent months.

Needless to say, I’ll be watching developments closely. I’ve already thought of a few interesting ways to use this for my own project. So watch out for the launch of the new Distributed National Burns Collection site in the coming months.

