Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Part of my role as Museums Officer for the Burns Recognition Project involves looking at new and interesting ways to engage with audiences. Pinterest is one such avenue which I’m starting to explore.

‘But wait!’, I hear you say. Do we really need another social media network to keep up with and constantly update? Well, yes, I would argue, especially if it broadens the appeal and interacts with users in a new and positive way.

Click on the image above to go to the Burns Scotland Pinterest page.

Founded in 2010, it was not until 2011 that it became the latest trend in the social media world. Jumping from around 1 million users to over 4 million between August and December 2011. Pinterest is basically centred around images. If you like an image, you can add it to your own board, re-pin it, like it, common on it etc.

In a nutshell, it’s one giant communal pinboard. As you can see from my own page, I’ve begun to promote the collections of the National Burns Collection and the various digitisation efforts I’ve been involved in. ‘Pinning’ images onto specific boards from a number of affiliate sites (this blog, Flickr page etc.) allows me to direct traffic and increase awareness of the collections held by the partnership.

I’m still in the early stages of trying to work out how best to achieve these aims, but it will be fascinating to see how other museums, libraries, and archives adapt Pinterest to their own needs. Various museums are already pinning their own content, but what interests me is how else they will engage with users.

Don’t forget to follow Burns Scotland on Pinterest by simply clicking the button below! If you have your own page, or want to share your own thoughts and ideas then please do get in touch or leave a comment.

Thanks to the following people for blogging about Pinterest and encouraging me to try it out for myself:

ArchivesInfo – Pinterest for Cultural Hertiage

Museum Diary – Museums and Pinterest An Introduction

Best of 3 – Pinterest and Museums

Follow Me on Pinterest

